

<u>Conference of Parliamentary Committees for European Union Affairs</u> <u>in European Union Affairs (COSAC)</u>

STATEMENT IN SUPPORT OF UKRAINE

ATTACKED BY THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION

(Version of 5th March 2022)

We, representing the European Parliament and the European Affairs Committees of the Parliaments of the French Republic, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Cyprus, the *Bundestag* of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Estonia, the Hellenic Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Republic of Finland, the Republic of Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Republic of Lithuania, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Republic of Latvia, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Republic of Poland, the Portuguese Republic, Romania, the Kingdom of Sweden, and the Slovak Republic, welcoming the resolution of 1 March 2022 of the European Parliament on the Russian aggression against Ukraine,

 Consider null and void the recognition of the self-proclaimed separatist entities of Ukraine by Russia on 21 February 2022 and unacceptable the act of war that the Russian Federation has taken responsibility for committing against Ukraine since 24 February 2022, with the complicity of Belarus, in violation of the general principles of international law of sovereignty and territorial integrity of States, and which undermines European and global security and stability,

On the management of the current crisis

2. Express our utmost solidarity with the democratically-elected authorities of Ukraine and with the Ukrainian people, our sympathy with the loss and suffering they are enduring, and our admiration for their courage in fighting and resisting aggression,

- 3. Strongly call on Russia and Belarus to cease fire, to immediately and unconditionally withdraw their military forces and equipment deployed in Ukraine, and to cease their cyber attacks,
- 4. Call on Russia to allow safe and unhindered access for humanitarian aid to those in need,
- 5. Welcome the unprecedented sanctions taken by the European Union against the Russian Federation and Belarus, and call on the European Union to go further if necessary in this direction in coordination with our partners and allies,
- 6. Endorse the initiatives that the European Union has taken without delay to support Ukraine by all means, political, financial, humanitarian and logistical, in particular under the European Peace Facility and the European Civil Protection Mechanism, which will contribute to strengthening the capabilities and resilience of the Ukrainian armed forces to defend the territorial integrity and sovereignty of the country and to protect the civilian population against the ongoing military aggression, and call for the reinforcement of these actions as necessary in coordination with our partners and allies,
- 7. Invite the European Union to organise itself as soon as possible to receive, in solidarity and under the best conditions, the Ukrainian refugees who are condemned to exodus by this war,
- 8. Affirm the need to involve national parliaments, several of which have adopted resolutions on the war in Ukraine, in decisions on the management of the crisis, as they will have important repercussions for the Member States and their citizens,

On the longer-term strategic issues for the European Union

- 9. Affirm our commitment to the values of the European Union which, under Article 3 of the Treaty on European Union, contributes in particular to peace, security, mutual respect among peoples, the protection of human rights and the strict observance and development of international law, in particular respect for the principles of the United Nations Charter,
- 10. Insist on the imperative respect for the democratic choices, sovereignty and territorial integrity of all states, including Georgia and the Republic of Moldova,
- 11. Call on the Heads of State or Government, meeting at the European Council on 24 and 25 March 2022, to adopt an ambitious version of the "strategic compass" and to strengthen its first pillar, relating to crisis management, in order to provide the Union with a lasting and credible response capability,
- 12. Believe that this war only reinforces the need to deepen the Common Security and Defence Policy, and to strengthen cooperation with the Eastern Partnership countries, particularly in the fight against hybrid threats,
- 13. Judge that this conflict, and its impact on grain and energy prices, also requires strengthening Europe's strategic autonomy, particularly in food and energy.

Ms Sabine THILLAYE Head of delegation French National Assembly

Mr Nik PREBIL Head of delegation Slovenian National Assembly

Mr Ondřej BENEŠÍK Head of delegation Czech Chamber of Deputies

> Mr Othmar KARAS Head of delegation European Parliament

Mr Reinhold LOPATKA Head of the delegation Austrian Parliament

Mr Gaëtan VAN GOIDSENHOVEN Head of delegation Belgian Senate

Ms Christiana EROTOKRITOU Head of delegation Cypriot House of Representatives

> Mr Kim VALENTIN Head of delegation Danish Parliament

Mr Dimitris KAIRIDIS Head of delegation Hellenic Parliament

Ms Satu HASSI Head of delegation Finnish Parliament

Mr Sean HAUGHEY Head of delegation Irish Parliament

Mr Sergio BATTELLI Head of delegation Mr François RAPIN Head of delegation French Senate

Mr Bojan KEKEC Head of delegation Slovenian National Council

> Mr David SMOLJAK Head of delegation Czech Senate

Mr Antonio TAJANI Head of delegation European Parliament

Ms Eliane TILLIEUX President of the Belgian House of Representatives

Ms Denitsa SIMEONOVA Head of delegation Bulgarian National Assembly

> Mr Anton HOFREITER Head of delegation German Bundestag

Ms Margit SUTROP Head of delegation Estonian Parliament

Ms Susana SUMELZO Head of delegation Spanish Congress of Deputies

Mr Domagoj HAJDUKOVIĆ Head of delegation Croatian Parliament

Mr Richárd HÖRCSIK Chair of the European Affairs Committee Hungarian National Assembly

> Mr Dario STEFANO Head of delegation

Italian Chamber of Deputies

Mr Arminas LYDEKA Head of delegation Lithuanian Parliament

Mr Uldis BUDRIĶIS Chair of the European Affairs Committee Latvian Parliament

> Mr Joris BACKER Head of delegation Dutch Senate

Mr Bodgan KLICH Chair of the Committee on Foreign and European Affairs Polish Senate

Mr Ștefan MUȘOIU Head of delegation Romanian Chamber of Deputies

> Mr Pyry NIEMI Head of delegation Swedish Parliament

Italian Senate

Mr Yves CRUCHTEN Head of delegation Luxemburgish Chamber of Deputies

Ms Laura BROMET Head of delegation Dutch House of Representatives

Ms Anita CZERWINSKA Vice-Chair of the EU Affairs Committee Polish Sejm

Mr Luis CAPOULAS SANTOS Head of delegation Portuguese Assembly of the Republic

> Mr Angel TÎLVĂR Head of delegation Romanian Senate

Ms Vladimíra MARCINKOVÁ Head of delegation Slovak National Council

We, representing the Republic of Albania, the Principality of Andorra, the Swiss Confederation, Georgia, the Republic of Iceland, the Kingdom of Norway, express our solidarity with the statement above:

> Ms Etilda GJONAJ Head of delegation Albanian Parliament

Mr Benedikt WÜRTH Head of delegation Swiss Federal Assembly

Mr Bjarni JÓNSSON Head of delegation Icelandic Parliament Ms Judith SALAZAR Head of delegation Andorran General Council

Ms Maka BOCHORISHVILI Head of delegation Georgian Parliament

Mr Åsmund AUKRUST Head of delegation Norwegian Parliament