RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE







Paris, April 5th 2022

Dear Chairs, Dear colleagues,

We are delighted to host the Interparliamentary Conference on Migration Challenges as part of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union. This Conference will be held on May 15th and 16th at the Palais du Luxembourg in Paris, seat of the French Senate.

Migration and asylum are major topics for the European Union. The Union must find a way to take determined action while respecting the rule of law and the principle of human dignity as set out in the European treaties, the constitutional principles of Member States, and the international commitments by which they are bound. The war in Ukraine highlights just how relevant this issue is.

In this context, it matters that representatives of the relevant parliamentary committees of the Member States are able to discuss and take a stance on stepping up border control and return measures, on the solidarity mechanisms to be implemented between Member States in order to receive migrants, on responsibility for taking care of those rescued at sea, on the common visa issuance policy, on the strengths and weaknesses of Europe's common asylum regime, and on the conditions for better immigrant integration.

We would like to invite you to this meeting which will comprise two parts:

- the first part on the lessons of the 2015 migration crisis in the light of the war in Ukraine,
- the second on controlling our external borders.

Representatives from the European Commission, the European Parliament, the European Border and Coast Guard Agency Frontex, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the French government will take part.

In accordance with established practice, the meeting will welcome up to four members per national parliament, two members per chamber for parliaments with a bicameral system.

Please find attached the provisional agenda for this meeting.

Yours faithfully,

François-Noël BUFFET

Yaël BRAUN-PIVET

Chair of the Senate Law Committee C

Chair of the National Assembly Law Committee